Back Home Again

October 30, 2008

Well I just got home from New Brunswick where I was teaching a bunch of seminars.  I met some nice people and some great dogs.  I am very excited about these teams as I will be working with them over the next six months.  Each group will be doing 5 different seminars plus keeping up with homework and training exercises on line between sessions.  This is a great way to help people progress with their handling as it is hard to maintain consistency when you don’t have regular classes or follow ups.  The dogs had a nice vacation staying at home but next time Riot and Preston will come with and assist me with with my teachings.  It will also give me lots of training time with each dog. 

Here is a video I posted last week of Preston working turns onto and off of his dogwalk.  He is doing really well considering how often he gets to work on it.  If I cue his turn with just body motion he is really good but I am not at the point where I can use verbals. 

We have a trial in a couple weeks then Susan Salo is here then I am back to New Brunswick then home again for another trial so we have lots of training to d from now until then.   We are trying hard to take advantage of the great weather!

2 Responses to “Back Home Again”

  1. Katie said

    I can’t quite figure it out from the video, how do you cue him to turn? Is it when you slow down he is supposed to turn towards you?
    I appreciate the videos you post, it’s great to see how you handle. See you Tuesday!
    Katie (and Annie)

  2. Chantal said

    Hey Justine, didn’t know about your blog, nice to see you mention the maritime crew… &:>)

Leave a Reply

