Something to Blog About!

July 22, 2009

I have been planning for a border collie pup for over four years and for the last six months I have been looking at breeders from all over north America.  I have done tonnes of research on different lines and kennels and dogs that I really like.  I had planned to get a female, she was supposed to be a red tri with a rough coat and a small blaze.  I was supposed to get the pup this fall after nationals and worlds were over…well things don’t always work out the way you plan them 😉  Last week I was put in contact with a breeder in Oregon who had a litter of pups ready for new homes.  After hearing about the pups and the dogs from the past two litters I decided to take a smooth coat, split face, black and white male from the litter.  So on Monday I flew through Seattle to Boise, Idaho and returned with two 8 week old puppies.  I kept one and I brought one back for a student.

“Summit” is his name and he is absolutely, 100%, without a doubt PERFECT!  Even though I haven’t even had him for 24 hours, he is everything I wanted in my next puppy.  He is super outgoing, confident, independent guy with trouble written all over his face 🙂  He is a manic tugger and loves his kibble too.  After the 4 hour drive to Boise airport then 7 hours in the kennel for the trip home we stopped at a Tim Hortons parking lot at 1 am.  I let him and his brother out in the parking lots and as two motor bikes went by and a jet flew overhead he looked at me then attacked his leash and started tugging madly…I have been in love ever since!

Today was his first day home and because we had his brother for the day we didn’t get much training time but we did go to the pet store and meet lots of people, then we went to the park to play tug then we went to the river valley and watched the people, bikes and skateboards go by, and finally we went to agility class tonight and met lots of new people and did restrained recalls.  It was a busy day but we still went home and played tug and learned its yer choice and did some crate games.

He is a very cool puppy and wherever he goes he walks in like he owns the place.  I couldn’t help laughing while reading his aptitude test on the flight home; would not show any interest in coming when called or following people, picked up the toy on the retrieve and took off running and not a flinch  for loud noises and scary things like umbrellas…did I say PERFECT?

Here is a video of him and his brother playing in the yard today.  Oh and he sleeps through the night, doesn’t pee in the house and will never need to be groomed 🙂

Next week we are changing our “H” and heading to Ottawa for the AAC nationals, should be fun!

2 Responses to “Something to Blog About!”

  1. amanda said

    he is super cute!!! you are going to have lots of fun, and put those long legs to good use!!!

  2. Jen said

    SOOOOOO cute!!!!

Leave a Reply

